The Evolution of Recipes – Heinz Chili Sauce

There is no such thing as a “small step” when you are transforming old habits…every decision you make and step you take will ripple many times over again and cause waves of more changes. …Just give it some time.

We went from everything being homemade… to everything being store-bought in jar, or can, or dry-mix version… to now everyone trying to get the most faithful recipe of the store-bought version of everything! …to be once again homemade, free of preservatives and unrecognizable ingredients.

What’s next on the evolution of recipes?? I don’t know… but by the title of my post, and if you have been following my blog, you must have guessed that I ran out of Heinz Chili Sauce!! You guessed it!!

In my efforts of losing weight, I’ve been relying on small portions of beans and chickpeas in my meals to keep me feeling full and better equipped to avoid the temptations of snacking on the wrong stuff.

My Chili Beans recipe is in my every other weekly rotation of meals… a tiny mason jar of it in my lunch box will keep me satisfied,  and hunger-free,  an entire very busy workday.

But my fastest and favorite Chili Beans recipe requires the Heinz Chili Sauce. Well, until I found out I already have home everything needed for a copycat version. I tried it today and… it is EXACTLY the same flavor!!

No preservatives… no unrecognizable list of  ingredients… no more jars or packages.

IMG_12555

Also, my Chili Beans recipe used to be cooked on the stove and use already cooked canned beans. But because I’m now reducing as much as possible the amount of garbage my household produces, I removed canned beans from our pantry and I’m buying bulk dry beans instead ( The Bag Lady… It takes courage. ). So now, even my simplest Chili Beans recipe undertook a complete makeover!

There is no such thing as a “small step” when you are transforming old habits…every decision you make and step you take will ripple many times over again and cause waves of more changes. …Just give it some time.

So my Chili Beans recipe still is mighty tasty, Spiked with lots of spices and flavors. Still is effortless, but now is cooked over night in a slow cooker.

Here’s how it goes…

Chili Beans

Ingredients:

– 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

– 1 large onion, chopped

– 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

– 2 lbs  ground beef

– 2 cups dry red kidney beans

– 6 cups of water

– 1/2 cup of wine

– 1/2 tsp of cinnamon

– Heinz Chili Sauce ingredients in picture above (no need to simmer…just add to the recipe list of ingredients, with the exception of the water)

Instructions:

Add oil and onion to a Frying pan and cook the onion until soften. Add the pepper flakes and stir. Add the beef and cook, breaking up pieces with a wooden spoon, until no longer pink and just beginning to brown.

In a slow cooker add the dry beans,  water,  cooked beef, wine, cinnamon, and the ingredients in the Heinz Chili Sauce.

Cook in slow for 6 to 8 hours. Taste and add salt if needed.

It’s ready to be packed in my lunch box!!!

4 thoughts on “The Evolution of Recipes – Heinz Chili Sauce

Leave a Reply

